Longtime Favorite Restaurants

February 9, 2010 § 1 Comment

There’s always something fun about trying a new restaurant. But, restaurants come and go. Only a few can withstand the ups and downs in the economy and people’s tastes while staying true to their food and concept. With that in mind, I’ve been writing some Yelp reviews of my longtime favorites. Starting with Front Porch and Soyka.

See them on Yelp with the links above, or read the reviews below.

Front Porch – 4 out of 5 stars

What could be better than great meals near the beach? Not much. Front Porch Cafe has been in its Ocean Drive location since, well, I don’t know how long. But, it seems like a really long time.

The restaurant is located in the Pelican Hotel. They have a large eating area outside, both on the porch and on the sidewalk. On the sidewalk there are umbrellas to shield diners from the sun as it can get quite hot in the summer time. They have a small indoor dining area.

I have been there most often for brunch, and occasionally for both lunch and dinner. They have good quality food and portions large enough to share or take half home.

Some of my favorite menu items are:
– hummus platter
– veggie burger
– breakfast sandwich
– mediterranean omelet
– yogurt with fruit and granola

My significant other loves their French Toast.

One thing to know is that since it’s on Ocean Drive, parking can be a bit of a hassle. There is a lot on 15th and Collins. On the weekends, there can be a bit of a wait, but it is well worth it!

Soyka – 3 out of 5 stars

I think the reason so many people frequent Soyka is because the menu features something for everyone. From burgers and fries to hummus and pita, most people can find something on the menu they would enjoy. The service is attentive, and the atmosphere is a kind of laid-back urban industrial, with an open kitchen, exposed piping, and dim lighting. They have outdoor seating as well as a garden area- an area enclosed with windows that lets in the natural light, but keeps out the rain and heat.

They serve brunch only on the weekends, though the regular lunch menu has omelets, and it’s pretty standard fare including french toast, various egg dishes, and some lunch items such as salads and sandwiches.

A three-star review for Soyka to me doesn’t mean it’s not a great place. I really love the location, the service, and my overall experience most times I am there. I think it’s just an ok place for me because there is nothing memorable about the food. But, I always have a great time there. It is my go-to place for out-of-towners with varying tastes and I am a brunch regular when I don’t feel like trying someplace new. I guess you could say it’s a Miami staple food establishment. Nothing outrageous, but very reliable.

Oh, and they’ve recently started hosting the Saturday Green Market in the parking lot.

§ One Response to Longtime Favorite Restaurants

  • I absolutely love the atmosphere at Soyka! the food…, not so much, the last couple of times I was there it was a bit of disappointment for me, but the place is definitely (for me) one of the best restaurant designs in Miami by far.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Longtime Favorite Restaurants at kitchen window.

meta

