Channukah Cooking

December 13, 2009 § 3 Comments

Channukah crept up on me this year, but this weekend I did have a chance to celebrate by cooking and lighting the candles. More holiday celebrations to come this week as Channukah continues through the 18th. So, I thought I’d take the opportunity to post a couple of things I cooked this weekend or will make this week.

Latkes – baked, not fried from the New York Times Jewish Cookbook. The recipe is also posted here. I highly recommend this cookbook. It has hundreds of Jewish recipes from all over the world. I serve latkes with the traditional sour cream and applesauce plus cranberry sauce.

Beignets – I followed the recipe from Baking and Books. They are a fun take on the traditional frying fest of Channukah. Plus, having recently visited New Orleans, I was eager to try to recreate Cafe Du Monde’s famous treat. Interestingly, as Ariela explains, though beignets are fried dough they don’t have a greasy taste because the oil is heated to a high temperature and doesn’t seep into the pastry. They are still indulgent, but a fun way to celebrate the holiday of oil and light. *Just a note* Don’t be afraid of this recipe if you don’t have a thermometer. I don’t have one and they came out fine. I tested the oil by dropping a small piece of dough into the oil. If it didn’t sink, but rose to the top, the oil seemed to be hot enough.

Macaroni Pie – Borrowing from my significant others’ Trinidadian holiday traditions, macaroni pie has found its way into my Channukah repertoire along with the next item. This pie is basically a casserole with noodles, evaporated milk, and cheese. Growing up my s.o. had this pie with elbow macaroni noodles. I prefer rigatoni and I usually use a mix of cheeses including Gruyere, which is one of my favorites. Here’s one version of the recipe. And, here is another. As you can see, there are many ways to make macaroni pie.

Stewed Pigeon Peas – Another Trinidadian addition this dish is a bean dish with green pigeon peas, tomatoes, and spices.

§ 3 Responses to Channukah Cooking

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Channukah Cooking at kitchen window.

meta

