pumpkin power muffins

June 15, 2009 § 2 Comments

These pumpkin power muffins from Coconut & Lime‘s recipe came out great! I love the combination of whole wheat, flax, oats, seeds, and pumpkin. The muffins are moist and flavorful- though more reminiscent of fall than our current spring season.  I made this batch of muffins to freeze and reheat for breakfast during the next couple of weeks.

I made a couple of changes to the original recipe- since I only had about 3/4 c pumpkin, I rounded out the cup with unsweetened applesauce; I used a combination of white whole wheat and traditional whole wheat; I added 1/2 t cinnamon; and I used 1/2 c brown sugar instead of 3/4 c brown sugar. I almost had to sub walnuts for the pepitas since I couldn’t find any, but then I found them in the bulk section of Whole Foods where I could buy just enough for the recipe. They add a great bite to the muffin and I don’t think I would like it with the walnuts as much as with the pepitas.

I’ll be entering this recipe and post into the contest for a Vita-Mix so wish me luck!

Estimated nutrition info:

1 1/2 starch, 1 fat serving

175 calories, 6 grams fat, 25 grams carb, 4 grams protein

§ 2 Responses to pumpkin power muffins

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading pumpkin power muffins at kitchen window.

meta

