a rainbow of empanadas

August 21, 2008 § Leave a comment

Whenever I am in Miami, I go to Panizza almost every other day. It’s a great cozy Argentine place right off of Lincoln Road, and I love their empanadas. What’s great is that they don’t only offer the standard variety- chicken, beef, cheese- they also have caprese (tomato and mozzarella), spinach and ricotta, mushroom and cheese, and corn. Of course, for desert (or a sweet breakfast) they have facturas of all shapes, sizes, and flavors including ones filled with dulce de leche. Pair that with an espresso or cafe con leche and I am good to go (though, I prefer my facturas in the afternoon). They also have a full menu with a variety of other dishes and drinks including salads, pastas, wine and beer. I can’t help it, though, whenever I go, I order something from the case, which displays their empanadas and special pies, and while they are warming it up, I grab a basket full of facturas to take home.

While it’s great to go out and buy empanadas, I am sure it would be a lot more cost effective to make my own. I have made them before, but in searching for a new recipe, I came across this link which lists a rainbow of empanadas from many different country origins. I’ll keep you posted if I try any of the recipes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a rainbow of empanadas at kitchen window.

meta

