travel essentials

May 22, 2008 § Leave a comment

Are you traveling this summer? As an artist and anthropology grad student, the summer is the time when I am in and out of town doing research, meeting other artists, and working on new ideas. For part of this summer I’ll be in a place where I won’t be able to run to the corner store to buy an item I may have forgotten. That means a lot of planning ahead. Here are some of my recent finds:

tide sink packs: I usually bring a little container filled with woolite so I can do small loads of laundry in the sink. It always spills! I was thrilled to see these at Target yesterday. They are individual Tide “sink packs;” each packet contains enough for one sink-full of laundry.

mini LED flashlight: I like to keep a small flashlight with me in case of a power outage, or if I need to look for something at night. LED flashlights last longer than standard bulbs, and uses less battery power. It uses one AA battery.

rechargeable batteries and battery charger: With more and more limitations on how much we are allowed to travel with, and the damage that throwing away old batteries does to the environment, I have finally made the switch to rechargeable. I bought the Energizer charger and extra batteries. I like that it can charge both AA and AAA, which are the sizes I use most often. This one takes about an hour to charge batteries. They do sell a 15 minute charger, but it’s a bit more expensive.

portable hard drive: Backup, backup, backup. Having heard many horror stories, I am trying to secure my artwork, data, and writing while I am out of the country. Western Digital makes a nice, small passport hard drive. At around $99 for 250GB, I think it is money well-spent. Now, I must remember to backup consistently.

*I bought the first three items at Target (in a physical store), and the last online at Amazon.*

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading travel essentials at kitchen window.

meta

