virtual caribbeans (this week in new orleans)

February 26, 2008 § 2 Comments

A Conference on Representation, Diaspora and Performance in and on the Caribbean

Tulane University, New Orleans, LA
February 28 – March 1, 2008

I’ll be leaving soon for the Virtual Caribbeans Conference in New Orleans, which has been organized by folks at Tulane University. I’ve been working hard on getting my presentation ready, and I’m looking forward to a great conference. My paper is titled, “Performance in the Archive: Re-imagining the Cuban Diaspora and Contemporary Cuban Art through the Performance-Based Photography of María Magdalena Campos-Pons and Marta Maria Peréz Bravo.” If you are so inclined, you can read part of the paper here. Any tips for my stay in New Orleans? Pass them along.

Among other exciting activities during the conference, I am especially excited about:

– seeing Annalee Davis’s film and discussing it with her and others

– witnessing a Carmelita Tropicana performance in-person

– meeting other people working on themes of art, migration, and the Caribbean

§ 2 Responses to virtual caribbeans (this week in new orleans)

  • Gretel says:

    Hi i am a cuban art historian and teach at the I.S.A . months ago i passed a course by Yolanda wood about the caribean region . I am now making a research about the musulman’s migrations in the area .
    Will be nice be in contact with you
    sorry mi english is not so good
    Gretel

  • lara says:

    Hi Gretel-

    Thanks for your comment. Please email me at lspardo@umich.edu. I would love to be in touch with you.

    lara

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading virtual caribbeans (this week in new orleans) at kitchen window.

meta

