because family is good material

August 26, 2007 § Leave a comment

I have been thinking a lot about my work lately, well, my artwork, to be more specific. For some reason, I long had an aversion to “documentary photography.” Not necessarily as a category or genre for everyone, but for myself and my “art.” I adamantly did not want to be a documentary photographer. Recently, however, I have been looking through my archives, and noticing some things I had brushed off before.  This is especially the case when it comes to family photographs. In the past, snapshots and family photographs did not belong in my artwork. But now I am looking at them with a new eye. Maybe there is a lot to be said for taking a good photo and documenting a moment in time, a person at an age and place that they may never be again. 

Here are two from the same month and year, April 2005. I’ll let you know how this interest in documentation develops . . .

josh eating cake

papa joe, passover, april 2005

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading because family is good material at kitchen window.

meta

