on the road and back again

June 5, 2007 § 1 Comment

First, I would like to thank all of you who have been visiting this blog in my absence. As of today, I’m back on top of it again until the end of this month. Thanks to Paula over at mango & lime for linking to my blog, which no doubt kept interest up during my lack of postings. The link was about my write-up on the old and new 190 restaurant. As a note, I tried to find the new location while I was in Miami for a few days, and I couldn’t locate it! My mom and I drove up and down 54th St. to no avail. Anyone been there yet? Let me know what it looks like. Better yet, send me a picture!

On the academic front, I have been very busy despite not being in any official courses. Summer seems to be conference season for grad students, and it is also fieldwork time for anthropologists. After the Atlantic Studies Conference, I took a quick trip to Miami, and then I headed for Salvador da Bahia, Brasil, where this years Caribbean Studies Association Conference was held. While I’m a bit too drained to write all the details now, I will fill you in over the next week or so. I have some great recommendations for anyone planning on visiting the area, and of course, some comments on the conference.

Also, an article I wrote is now out in the 3rd issue of a new local Miami art newsletter called the Gallery Diet. Click on the “columns” button on the website, then move the scroll over. My article is the first one. It’s about Maria Magdalena Campos-Pons and photography as a performative document in the archive. Go check it out and let me know what you think!

§ One Response to on the road and back again

  • Denise says:

    Hi Lara, I’m waiting to read what you have to say about the Caribbean Studies Assoc. Conference. This is my first time blogging so I can’t wait to read the flow of comments.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading on the road and back again at kitchen window.

meta

