what’s your favorite?

May 24, 2007 § 4 Comments

yellow cabanas, miami beach

ann arbor winter, january 2007

(cabanas on Miami Beach, April 2005, and a snowy, foggy Ann Arbor, January, 2007)

Growing up in Miami, I never really understood the concept of a “season.”  I mean, it’s hot or not so hot. We had the occasional cold day and many rainy days.  More recently, we are concerned most of all with “hurricane season,” which is somewhat of a new phenomena stirring up a lot of anxiety in the South Florida area (as well as other coastal areas too, I’m sure).  It’s not that we didn’t have hurricanes before, but we never had so many that the region had to be on guard for the whole season.  But, I digress. My point is that since Miami was pretty much always warm, I never thought about the luxury of eating outside.

Currently, I live in Ann Arbor, where it has just started to warm up after months of up and down weather (mostly down, below 40).  For the first time since September, this morning I went running in a tank top and shorts! It’s going to be almost 80 degrees here today.

So, with warmth in the air, and a little more time on my hands now that the semester is over, it’s the perfect time for picnics.

What’s your favorite food to take on a picnic? 

Where’s your favorite place to go on a picnic? 

Tomorrow, I’ll post some of mine . . .

§ 4 Responses to what’s your favorite?

  • summer day says:

    Some of my favorite picnic foods are:
    – chicken salad sandwiches
    – chilled white wine
    – chocolate chip cookies
    – grapes

  • lara says:

    summer day- that sounds good. i love grapes at a picnic! they seem so luxurious when eaten outside for some reason. maybe that’s just me!

  • civs says:

    i love the summer weather in miami. grew up in NYC and had it with the cold weather and the snow during the 96 storm. fruits and sandwichs are my favs for picnics. i try to make diff sandwiches using fruits. a fav is chicken salad mixed with grapes and roasted almonds with maple rye bread.

  • lara says:

    Civs-
    Sounds good to me! I like the summer weather in Miami too. Even though it’s really hot and humid, when you find a perfect spot in the shade, it’s not so bad.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading what’s your favorite? at kitchen window.

meta

