tea and cupcakes: miami

May 9, 2007 § 6 Comments

I have long dreamed of opening my very own tea place.  And, my love of cute little treats leads to pairing cupcakes with a cup of tea.  However, until I open my very own place (which will be a very long time from now considering I’m in grad school), I like to make the rounds at other shoppes. 

Miami, sometimes so ahead of the game on some levels, also lags behind certain national trends.  Case in point: cupcakes are booming all over the country, and Miami folks are only now seeing them pop up in places besides the grocery store or the next door neighbor’s birthday party.

I’m not in Miami now, so I’ll have to send you to scout out Amate and Sticky Fingers Cupcakes.  They are housed in the same location, at 811 NE 79th St., Miami, FL.  Their hours are 4-11 p.m. Tuesday-Friday, 10 a.m.-11 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. 

From browsing Sticky Finger’s blog and flickr page, I have already selected my favorite cupcake: oye como va.  This is Miami in a cupcake for sure! It’s a guava and cream cheese cupcake, and it looks so freakin adorable.

I found out a bit about Amate, from this nice write-up in the Tropical Life Section in the Miami Herald. The shoppe is owned by two women, life partners for 10 years, who met at a spirituality workshop. The name, Amate, means “love in action.”  They explained that the reason the shoppe isn’t open until 4pm is that they both still have their day jobs.  However, once business picks up, they say they will extend these hours. (there is more info in the article)

So, if you are in Miami, and get a chance to check them out, help them leave their day jobs, drink tea, eat cupcakes, and send me your comments, suggestions and pictures.

 

§ 6 Responses to tea and cupcakes: miami

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading tea and cupcakes: miami at kitchen window.

meta

